Budget vs. Dependable Car Rental (STT)

Travel discussion for St. John
Tracy in WI

Budget vs. Dependable Car Rental (STT)

Post by Tracy in WI »

I know it has been covered but I can't find a direct answer for this question.

We are going to STJ with two new families in June and will be renting 2 vans on STT to take over on the car ferry. We found them available at both Budget and Dependable and Budget is a bit less.

We have rented from Dependable in the past with no problems. We are leaning towards Budget based soley on the price difference. Does anyone have any good or bad expriences that I should know about?? We would be renting via caribbean-on-line.com (thanks Anthony!)

Thanks!! :wink:
Tracy, Seaside Properties at Grande Bay
Pia

Post by Pia »

There has been alot of info on Budget on Tripadvisor (sorry Anthony :) ) recently - general thoughts - Do Not Use - no cars even with a reservation, long waits for cars (over an hour) rude service etc.

I have no personal experience but thought I would pass it on.

Pia
Randy in MD

Post by Randy in MD »

I reserved a 4-wheel drive Ford Ranger with Budget on STT last September. When I arrived they told me they had no Rangers and were giving me an F-150 in its place. They told me they could never guarantee the availability of any specific vehicle. The F-150 had 2-wheel drive and in fact, the tires were so bald it could not make it up to our villa on wet roads. We went back from St. John the next day to return it and traded it in for a large Jeep of some sort. We really wanted a truck as we were unloading a container and moving dozens of boxes up to the house. On the other hand, I have always been happy with the service and the vehicles I've gotten from Dependable. Given the type of vehicle you're renting, I would feel much better about actually getting that vehicle if I were renting from Dependable.
Steve S

Post by Steve S »