bioluminescent bay?

Travel discussion for St. John
newlywedtravel

bioluminescent bay?

Post by newlywedtravel »

Hi everyone! New here and headed to St. John for the first time for 9 days at the end of March for our honeymoon. Does anyone know if there are any bioluminescent bays/water areas near St. John, and who to contact to arrange a boat trip? I want to surprise my husband with this. Thanks so much! Also—if you have any must-dos, please let me know!
hoosierdaddy

Re: bioluminescent bay?

Post by hoosierdaddy »

Not that I am an expert but I have never heard of one on St. John. Actually I have never heard of a bioluminescent bay period. :?
shoemak38

Post by shoemak38 »

hoosierdaddy wrote:Not that I am an expert but I have never heard of one on St. John. Actually I have never heard of a bioluminescent bay period. :?
We learn something new everyday :lol:
http://biobay.com/
coldfront

Post by coldfront »

I'm not the expert but when I visited St Croix I think I heard there is "kind of" one that is "decent". It's a night kayak I believe. Then of course the WONDERFUL one is over off of Puerto Rico on Vieques. Um, but I'm pretty sure none directly on St John or at least with easy access. If it would be really meaningful though it would not be difficult to plan a quick visit to St Croix or Vieques at the start or end of your trip :D Anyone else know of any bio bays on STJ or STT?
newlywedtravel

Post by newlywedtravel »

Thank y'all so much. @coldfront. The night kayak is what I was looking for. I did the trip when I was in Vieques before I met my husband and he saw the pictures and was blown away (it really was an amazing experience), so I wanted to find something comparable in St. John. I'll look into an overnight in St. Croix, thanks!
If that's not possible, does anyone know of any night kayaking trips in St. John—not a chartered sunset cruise, but maybe something a bit more active and/or off the beaten path?
Thanks so much!
hoosierdaddy

Post by hoosierdaddy »