Bug spray with DEET - Gromit?

Travel discussion for St. John
jdw

Bug spray with DEET - Gromit?

Post by jdw »

How much DEET is too much? Isn't it unhealthy after a certain percent?

Gromit - What is the kind of bug spray that you recommend? I remember reading about it in one of your reports.

Thanks.

Jamie
Cid

Post by Cid »

I went to the Army/Navy Store and got a jug of military issue bug juice. The deet content is really high, but it works awesome. It will even keep people away.

I'm no expert, but I think you have to have a fairly high exposure, over a course of time to get any real effects. Of course, that's if there are no other health concerns. I think the real danger is to laboratory rats that get really high doses of the stuff daily. "I wonder how they got those huge tumors? Hmmmmm....". :lol:

I'm guessing someone else will have more info....
Still waiting to return to St. John!
http://facebook.com/cidsinclair
[/url]
djmom

Post by djmom »

Cid wrote:I went to the Army/Navy Store and got a jug of military issue bug juice. The deet content is really high...

JDW: this should answer your question (CID is the guy with the talking iguana)
"Sponges grow in the ocean...I wonder how much deeper it would be if that didn't happen."
Gromit

Post by Gromit »

Hey JDW!!

The only thing I bring is Ben's with as much DEET as possible.

Certainly if you have young kids you might want to be careful and opt for the 30% DEET but quite frankly Ben's is the only thing that works for me and keeps the bugs off (they LOVE me cause I'm so sweet 8) )

You can get Ben's on line and it comes in this nice handy, purse or pocket size orange bottle. So it's easy to carry and easy to find in your bag. It's strong so you don't need to use as much as you would with other bug repellants. A little goes a long way.

Botach Tactical has a nice explanation of why Ben's is different from other sprays:
http://www.botachtactical.com/betiinre.html

And you can buy from several places: